Monday, 11 March 2013

ISTQB Foundation Level Specification

ISTQB Foundation Level Specification

The International Software Testing Qualifications Board offer trainings and exams such as the ISEB-SWT2 exam or the ISTQB-ISEB Certified Tester Foundation Level. This examination is open to all who is involved in the testing of software. These people are testers, analysts, engineers, consultants, managers involved in testing and developers of software. The Foundation Level aptitude exam can also be applicable to anyone that understands testing of software, project and quality managers and other related fields.

The usual content of the Foundation Level exam are the following topics:

The Basic of Testing
  • Importance of testing such as describing the reason that harms a software and testing as assuring quality
  • Objectives of testing and differentiating it from debugging
  • The testing principles
  • The basic testing process
  • Testing psychology
  • Testing the Life of a Software
  • Relationship of models and using samples
  • The recognition of software adaptation
  • Comparison between different objectives and other related concepts
  • The different type of tests
  • Maintaining the tests which includes distinguishing indicators and describing the maintenance
    • Fixed Techniques
    • The process and static test and methods includes software word, valuing techniques and difference between the types of techniques
    • The process of reviewing activities, differences between reviews and its factors
    • The fixed analysis with the use of tools, descriptions, usage of examples and the effects of designs
    • The Design Techniques
    • The development of the test process, comparative conditions of tests and the translation of cases
    • The classification of design techniques for tests includes the concepts of testing benefits, purpose and specific testing
      • Specific Basis
      • Test cases analysis and diagram transition
      • The four techniques of testing
      • The concepts of testing
        • Techniques Based on Experiences
        • Recalling if knowledge regarding defects
        • Comparison of experience and specification techniques
        • Classification of techniques related to software characteristics
          • Managing Tests
          • Organizing test which includes recognition of independent testing, job leaders and tester
          • The estimation of planning a test
          • Keeping track of progress
          • Constructing management

The examination is mostly composed of objective or cognitive level which are recalling, understanding, application and analysis. The examination may need to have other learning materials not stated above. The test can be taken as a required course or can be with your own decision. The exam is divided into five main topics which have a n allotted time of 115 minutes for each main topic and eighty minutes for the last main topic. More information can be found here:

Source: Link
Author: Christophe

No comments:

Post a Comment